City election deadline Friday


Candidate list will be updated Friday on

Staff Writer

 Qualifying for the city’s election ends Friday at 5 p.m., and the list of candidates is growing, according to the city clerk’s office.
According to records at the city clerk’s office six candidates have returned qualifying papers to the City Hall and now await inspection from city election commissioners.
Charles Latham, a candidate for mayor, was the first to turn in papers, and he has been joined by incumbent mayor Billy Collins.
Others who have returned qualifying papers are Ward Three City Councilman Lewis Johnson, Ward Five Councilman Eric Harris, Ward Seven Councilman Ronnie Merriman, and councilman candidate Michael Smith, who will run for the Ward Four Councilman seat now held by Ernest Hargrove.
The deadline to have qualifying papers returned is Friday at 5 p.m.
The city election has been set for Monday, May 4, 2020.