Kirk honors athletes at annual banquet

Seniors Ashley Nail, Allen Cravens lead winners list

Seniors Allen Cravens and Ashley Nail came away with the most hardware Monday night as the Kirk Booster Club and parents honored the school’s athletes at its Annual Athletic Banquet held at the school’s gymnasium.

The event honored athletes both at the junior varsity and varsity in each sport that the school offers.

Cravens, who will be playing football next season at Millsaps, was named Most Valuable and Team Captain in basketball. He was also MVP in tennis.

The Daily Star also honored Cravens as The Tommy Wolfe Memorial Award winner. The award is in its fifth year in memory of the late Managing Editor and Sports Editor at the newspaper.

The school also presented Cravens with a new award. The Gene Thomas/Kim Michael Award is new this year in memory of the two that gave so much to the school. Thomasdied during the basketball season while McMichael died in an auto accident not long after that. The award will be presented annually to a boy and girl athlete. A plaque will remain on display at the school showing each winner.

Nail was the female receipient of the award. She also received the Defense Award in basketball and Most Valuable in softball. Her fourth award was the Best Sprinter Award in track.

Award winners

Here is the list of the athletes that won awards.



Offensive Line – P.J. Harville; Offensive back – Justin Dyre; Defensive Line – Daniel Osborne and Drew Rose; Defensive back – Andy Bailey; Raider Award – Trey Strider; Most Improved – Matthew Rainey; Most Valuable – Allen Cravens.


Best Offense – Amber Hankins; Best Defense – Lindsey Houston; Most Improved – Meagan White; Raider Award – Amy Nobile; Most Valuable – Ashley Nail.



Captains – Mitchell Harville and Allen Cravens; Assists – Mitchell Harville; Raider Award – Tommy Kerr; Most Valuable – Drew Rose and Patrick Stone.


Rebounder – Haley Willis; Offense – Colby Willis; Defense – Ashley Nail; Captain – Amy Nobile; Raider Award – Amber Smithers; Most Valuable – Amy Nobile.

Boys Track

Best of Field – Daniel Osborne; Best of Track – Mitchell Harville; Most Improved – James Wood; Raider Award – Max Jucheim; Most Valuable – Tommy Kerr.

Girls Track

Best of Field – Amy Nobile; Best Sprinter – Ashley Nail; Best Distance – Colby Willis; Most Improved – Amber Hankins.


Offense – Justin Dyre; Defense – Daniel Osborne; Most Improved – Joe McKnight; Raider – Chris Roach; Most Valuable – Andy Bailey.


Most Improved – Clayton Dugan; Raider Award – Paris Buchanan; Most Valuable – Allen Cravens; Most Improved – Amber Smithers; Raider Award – Lindsey Deloach; Most Valuable – Sarah Rose Buchanan.


Most Improved – Austin Smithers; Medalist – Michael Littrell.

Scholar Athletes

Max Jucheim and Kristian Dambrino.

Jr. Varsity


Offense – Ryan Evans; Defense – Cody Strider; Most Improved – Cade Rounsaville; Raider Award – Richard Bowen; Most Valuable – Brian Logan.

Girls Basketball

Offense – Lacey Weatherall; Defense – Meredith Lott; Most Valuable – Meagan White.

Boys Basketball

Offense – Ryan Evans; Defense – Taylor Jones; Most Valuable – Cade Rounsaville.

Girls Track

Best of Track – Lacey Weatherall; Most Improved – Kathryn Dambrino; Most Valuable – Meagan White.

Boys Track

Best of Field – Cade Rounsaville; Best of Track – Ryan Evans; Most Valuable – Adam Jeffreys and Andrew Jeffreys.

Special Awards

Tommy Wolfe Memorial Award – Allen Cravens; Gene Thomas/Kim McMichael Award – Allen Cravens and Ashley Nail.

©The Daily Sentinel Star 2007

Leave a Comment